Bricked by DirectStream while attempting to perform Torreys Update

First off, I absolutely love my DirectStream, it is without question the best DAC I’ve heard.

And being that I enjoy DSD, it was a no brainer purchasing one last year.

I should also mention I am not technically inept, far from it…

So I recently became aware of the Torreys update. I downloaded the update, cleaned the Yale SD card on my PC and then copied and pasted the Torreys files to the SD Card and then safely ejected the SD card.

First indication of a problem :

When I re-inserted the SD card and turned the power back on the back the screen displayed upside down… but that’s not all. The light did not flash before hand.

I waited 20 minutes, then tried it again. Unplugged everything. Re-inserted the power cord (A/C button off) then inserted the SD card and then I turned the A/C button on.

Only then I got the front power light blinking (indicating the update), but it kept blinking for an hour without the screen coming on or anything.

I turned the A/C power off on the back and on my third attempt now my DirectStream won’t turn on at all!!!

I have tried everything but it won’t turn on, no screen, no lights, nothing. So the power supply inside the unit probably crapped out.

FWIW, I am using my DirectStream with a PowerBase and the short power cord that comes with it connecting it to the PowerBase, and my DS has the Bridge II installed as well.

Please help!!

Thanks,

Emil S.

NJ, USA

You probably need the rescue firmware having the force load onboard. When this process is done you may yet again try to load the Torreys.

You can find many references to this herein.

Just in case you need the link to the DS rescue file, it lives here and is also under Resources > Downloads > Download Software and Guides. I’ve certainly needed to use it a number of times.

Good luck!

emilsejr said First off, I absolutely love my DirectStream, it is without question the best DAC I've heard.