Can't play DSD dsf with Melco N1A/Minimserver

Hopefully this is the right forum to post this question.

I bought a Melco N1A, installed minimserver on it, connected to the PS Audio DirectStream DAC Jr using ethernet (i.e., using Melco N1A player mode). The problem is that I can’t play any .dsf files. Please advice.

zheng4 said

Hopefully this is the right forum to post this question.

I bought a Melco N1A, installed minimserver on it, connected to the PS Audio DirectStream DAC Jr using ethernet (i.e., using Melco N1A player mode). The problem is that I can’t play any .dsf files. Please advice.

In Minim Server there is a configuration which you can use to tell Minim how to handle .dsf files. Typically it is under System. The parameter is stream.transcode. You need to specify there dsf:dopwav.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Sourav

I am a very novice user. Could you please give me detailed instruction how to do that? Thanks.

I have not used Melco.

But in principal in Melco if you are able to install Minim server you should be also able to install Minim Watch. After you start Minim Watch there should be a way to go to Properties as link/dropdown/tab. Once you click that you should get various tabs (or something equivalent). One of then should be System tab.

Beyond this I believe you have to ask Melco support to help you understand how you can configure Minim in Melco.

Regards,

Sourav

To add to what Sourav said:

You must install MinimStreamer, which is an optional add-on to MinimServer. Go the Minim website for downloads and instructions.

Once you’ve got MinimStreamer added, tell it to send dsf files as DoP, which is required when using the Bridge. Under System properties, in the stream.transcode field add the setting “dsf:dopwav” (no quotes).