Class D "Sound"

I’m debating purchasing either the PS Audio S300 or M700’s OR another brand’s class A/B amplifier (Schiit Vidar).

What would you say some of the sonic characteristics are of class d amplification? I’ve seen Paul’s videos on Class A, A/B, and D, so I understand the basics, but I’m wanting to dive just a bit deeper into what you’re actually getting from a class D amp that is sonically beneficial over Class A/B.

I have two integrated amps at home right now (one class a/b, the other class d) - both around the $700 point - and I prefer the sound of the class a/b NAD over the class d. They are both good quality, 2-channel amps.

Any advice or insight into my consideration? Not trying to stoke the fire here on the Class D vs. Class A/B debate…just trying to be an informed buyer and buy to my audio tastes…

(I’M NO EXPERT, JUST FELT LIKE TOSSING IN TWO CENTS). I can’t really help with the Class A/B as I haven’t really heard one for a few decades, I’ve been lost in Class A tube world. I do have recent experience with an excellent class D amp, the Peachtree Audio Grand integrated X-1. It has a really nice clean and fast sound. Though I can’t help it, the tube buffer doesn’t make it sound any more “tube-like” and every time I spend a lot of time with it I felt that lack of “tube-sound” and “feel.” For me that shifts the balance, but the Class D sound of that Peachtree really had nothing to fault, it had gobs of power, dynamics and detail and a nice frequency balance.

I think it’s hard to state that there is a typical “sound” to an amp topology. Most of my amps are class A . It has more to do with successful design implementation. Many class D amps sound great nowadays.

I have heard tube setups.
I have heard A/B, very expensive Nagra setup with my speakers (Triton 3+) at my dealer.