DSD vs PCM aka Ted Smith vs Rob Watts

Hi,

I’ve watched a couple of talks given by Ted Smith and Rob Watts and both argue that one format is superior over the other if implemented correctly. I even spotted Ted once in one of Rob’s talks.
Unfortunately I’m no expert on the subject and understand only a third of what they’re saying so the question keeps bugging me, who is right? They both sound pretty convincing to me.

In short, PS Audio says DSD is supperior, so what do they think about the point Rob is making when it comes to PCM vs DSD?

Thanks a lot
Simon

i belive dsd is better, because is more a analogue wave;

but in the same way the pcm dac convert the numbers to analogue (wave?)

ps. I had compare the kind of blue hdtracks to sacd version and the sacd is better(but then it may be because is a different remastering?) another history then!

ps.2 do you have a youtube link of the Ted vs Rob disscution?

I usually try to say that there are different tradeoffs for various technologies and that a designer should work with the technology he believes in and is passionate about. For my skill set (a software guy) I obviously prefer DSD, it’s inherently linear so there’s no need for expensive and problematic precision component matching (like various resistor based DACs.) Matching their specs with DSD for me is easy. Other designers make great products based on their strengths.

I like Rod and respect his ears and his work. On the other hand I don’t agree with his view of DSD. We’ve obviously had different experiences in the past with various technologies so that’s not too surprising.

I don’t think I ever said he was wrong. But as with most things in life there’s more than one right answer.

When people are arguing about PCM vs. DSD, they mean PCM played by a non DSD converting DAC vs. DSD, right? So not comparing PCM vs. DSD, both played on the DS…

Otherwise I wouldn’t be able to identify differences worth the arguing.

I think this is a good illustration: