Feeding my Sprout (or Stellar)

So pretty much a newbie here. Just bought a Sprout100 and have a pair of Martin Logan 35XT’s on it. I’m just running itunes through the bluetooth connection right now. It sounds great, but what are some more “cleaner” methods of getting music to my Sprout (or Stellar, when I upgrade)? Been doing some reading here, but I don’t understand a lot of what’s being said. Simple as possible please.

Great question, and I’m sure you’ll get a lot of interesting advice.

One easy step is to switch to USB from your computer instead of Bluetooth. Bluetooth compresses audio when it sends it, and the data does not come out perfectly intact on the other end - it’s a lossy transmission. USB sends the data without this loss.

Next thing to look at is the quality of the music you are playing. If it’s from Spotify, Pandora, or was downloaded as MP3, the music has gone through a lossy compression, meaning some of the original data has been lost.

How important this fact is is a bit uncertain. Some folks cannot hear the difference between high quality MP3 vs lossless CD quality.

Others can hear differences between very high sample rates far beyond CD quality.

If you’re interested in experimenting a bit with file quality, you can try out a test like this.

And the most important improvement anyone can make to their stereo system - take some time to really enjoy it. Whether that means relaxing with a drink and the lights low while listening intently or having a dance party, remember that your stereo is a companion designed to make life more enjoyable. When you’re chasing the dragon of better sound it can be easy to forget this sometime.

4 Likes

A major bottleneck for SQ is the software. iTunes is bad because it resamples and converts the bits.
Look into BitPerfect or Audirvana for Mac.