How do I set up Internet Streaming?

I wonder if you folks would take pity on a complete newbie to internet audio. I have been a record spinner all my life. I am not computer savvy at all. I just bought some new gear (PS Audio Directstream, Pima Luna HP amp, Harbeth Hl5 plus speakers, Nordost cabling). I bought the USB bridge card for the PS Audio unit. I haven’t the foggiest idea about how to get started with Internet music sources. I was going to just buy a Mac Pro laptop, download audirvana, and get started. I have read with great interest this entire thread, but now am hopelessly confused. Would anyone be willing to stick their neck out and recommend what I should, allowing for the fact that I need to be told exactly what to do (what cables I need, what buttons to push, etc.). I am exaggerating a little, but only a little. Thank you.

Welcome, ponzi!

There are two ways to play digital audio: with a full-size computer, or through a NAS drive. Some people, like me, don’t care to have a computer in the music room. You can buy a NAS (I use a Synology 213, now I believe replaced by the 214) with MinimServer, controlled from a tablet and feeding the Bridge in my DS. I like this setup very much. It would cost you about $400 for the NAS and $200 for two WD Red drives (shop around for good prices) which is less than a Mac.

From a full-size computer, most people use USB rather than ethernet connections (although you can use the latter). I would point out that if you are accustomed to using Windows, perhaps at your day job, there is no reason you have to switch to a Mac. Somehow the idea is out there that Macs are better for audio; that may have been true at one time, but no longer. Please, folks, I’m not saying Macs are bad; if one is already a Mac user, no problem, but I know some people who just assume they need a Mac for audio.