SGCD Preamplifer to increase Signal to Noise Ratio?

Hi there,
I’m pretty new to the stereo separates side of audio, so I apologize if this is an exceedingly easy question to answer.

I currently run my DirectStream Junior with single ended RCA interconnects and the 20db attenuator “in/on” to a pair of M700s. My speakers are extremely sensitive, (101db/watt), so even with this setup I can still hear white noise from the speakers at my 13ft away listening position. The noise is not overly loud or distracting but it is noticeable. If I swap the RCA’s for a pair of XLR’s the 6db of extra gain makes the background noise unacceptable, even with the attenuator in-line.

If I understand how all this works correctly I think I can lower my overall signal to noise ratio by inserting a preamplifier like the SGCD into the chain is that correct? If I run the DSJ DAC at 100 volume with the attenuator in-line then I’m maximizing the S/N of that component. In my current setup the DSJ@100 (attenuator in) is louder than I’ll likely ever want to listen, 70 is jamming out pretty loud.

Since the SGCD is line level at volume 76 I would be hearing equal volumes with these two scenarios correct? DSJ@100 = DSJ@100 + SGCD@76

So therefore if I insert the SGCD into the signal path and run it at any volume between 0 and 76 I should be decreasing the amount of white noise that ends up in the music since it will be scaling down a maximized S/N signal correct? Or does it not work as cleanly as that because the SGCD inserts its own noise into the system?

Yep, you’ve got it (except possibly for the literal numbers on the volumes controls - I don’t know that both are 1/2 dB per unit.)

Thanks Ted!