Viewing a constant signal in DSD with variable initial noise

Hello,
I wanted to see what would be the DSD encoding of a “clean” sine signal, but with a variable noise initially set at the sigma stage. In other words, slightly different DSD encodings can represent the exact same analog signal (with a proper low-pass filter). To be able to see this, I have created this single HTML page with some Javascript:

Interpretation of the generated image:

• The left margin shows the initial noise:
    • The magenta scale is for negative values of noise from -1 to 0
    • The green scale is for positive values of noise from 0 to 1
    • Overall, 512 different values of noise between -1 and 1 on a linear scale
  • The remaining black and white pixels are DSD bits, where each row of pixels is a single mono DSD stream.

Please note: I am not a signal processing expert, so the DSD encoding in the Javascript code is probably too simple, but I believe it is good enough to show what DSD looks like.

Food for thoughts: if we assume different DSD streams should losslessly represent the same analog signal (when low-pass filtered), than what about a conversion of DSD to PCM followed by PCM to DSD? I know Octave Records is using “optimized” digital audio converters, but understanding conversion problems is not easy.

1 Like

The initial noise (along with the signal) is filtered by the noise shaping filter. If that filter is stable (loosely speaking, it doesn’t amplify any of its input frequencies) then that initial noise dies down and doesn’t affect the output after a while.

To get a real idea with at least, say, 120dB S/N you’ll need a 5th order sigma delta modulator and hopefully at least double rate DSD or more.