Comparison between Bridge II vs ultraRendu set up with LPS & Matrix XSPDIF2

With all the posts talking about Bridge II being noisy and less than ideal for DS DAC Sr. I had to try how much improvement I can make by going to a popular ultraRendu with LPS going straight into I2S of my DAC.

For the record, I have the MK1 DS Dac with the APS transformer and VOCM mod. I’ve also applied 3M AB7050HF on all the places Ted Smith recommended including my bridge card. I run the set up through BHK Preamp and NAD C298 (Purify Amp) outputting to Elac Adante. Fully balanced from DAC to Amp via OCC cables.

To summarize, I compared the two setups for a full week. First with Bridge II installed and ultraRendu into I2S and then bridge removed.

Here are the findings. For the record, I am a trained musician, done recording, and have pretty discerning ears. I can tell the difference in cable qualities, isolation tweeks, room acoustics, even centimers of speaker placment difference.

Finding: I could not hear any discernable difference between the UltraRendu set up and the Bridge II (with or without the card in the DAC). I am not sure how much of that is from applying the 3M absorbers, but, to my trained ears, Bridge II was as good as the ultraRendu setup. My speakers are pretty resoloving and very sensitive to component changes. I know that subsonic noise, although cannot be heard, can impact the background, soundstage and instrument separation. Bridge II with the 3M abosorber went toe to toe with the set up that cost 2x (3x in reality).

For fun, I added a optical conversion unit (TP Link version and not the Sonore) using two iFi Power adaptors and 10 meters of optical cable to place my roon server out of the listening room. Initially, I found the sonic quality smoother overall, but after critically listening, came to realize the setup actually degraded the soundstage and imaging. Less bass texture, and less resolution.