DirectStream Sr/Jr as a Preamp

I’ll preface this question in that I’m still fairly new to understanding all the myriad nuances in the audiophile world…

Given that DS can work as a preamp, what benefit is there going to a standalone preamp if that preamp is going to remain SS? Are there users here using their DS as a preamp with a standalone poweramp? I have an integrated amp now (Hegel H360) but I wonder if I should get rid of it now that I have DSJr and look at getting a stand alone power amp.

All my listening is through digital mediums and at the moment am not interested in going down the rabbit hole of vinyl!

-Matthew

There is pretty even mix of those who use a preamp and those who don’t. Personally I don’t. I found that with my (previous) Audio Research LS-25 the sound was better without it. Of course the need for analog inputs is a big determinant, but that is not a problem for you. There have been several discussions on this topic, I found one from several months ago … Click. Try searching in the DS forum for others.

The DS DAC straight into my BHK Stereo 250 sounded really good. For some reason adding in a BHK Pre amp opened up new levels detail and provided additional dynamics in my all digital system. All that said, you could start with a DS DAC direct to your power amp. The pair will sound better than adding all but a few pre amps in the chain.

I think most DACs benefit from a gain stage between it and the amp. Then there’s the whole question of if that should also be flavored/colored.