Tube brands to listen out for

Several years back, I was gifted by my generous older brother with a used Convergent Audio Technology SL-1 Reference tube amp. I’ve had the tubes replaced once about 5 years ago, but now that I’m doing more and more serious listening, I think it might be a good idea to replace them. There are many places to buy tubes, but I haven’t read a lot of reviews or general advice on what BRANDS to look for and why. My budget is what you might call flexible, but I probably wouldn’t spend the $60 per tube I’ve seen on some sites. Of course, having a tube pre-amp means I’m looking for warmth, natural sound - listen to a lot of jazz, acoustic music, classical. Any suggestions?

I have no experience with this preamp but I have been listening to tube amps and preamps and other devices for over thirty years. While tubes sound differently in different circuits and components, there are some brands that have a certain “house sound” and the one that I most often gravitate towards is Amperex, those that are made in Holland. Generalizing I would say they have a body to the sound with some warmth, but not obscuring detail in any significant way. I listen mostly to jazz, some classical and Brazilian music.

Hey, thanks for the recommendations. I’ll look for them. Sounds like our listening habits are similar, so that helps a lot.

1 Like

Great preamp w/ killer phono stage

So many great tubes for the CAT Amprex Holland, Mullard for a bit more warmth - check with Brent Jessie, he’ll get you the right stuff! I’m a Siemens fan but never tried the 6922 but I can’t imagine a well sourced set would sound anything but wonderful

More analog or digital? Speakers, amps?

Best,
-JP

3 Likes

'nuff said.

4 Likes

Guess I could’ve/should’ve threw the link up :slightly_smiling_face:
Brent’s got some tubes under your budget

Best,
-JP

1 Like

Ken Stevens also has a very good idea on what tubes he thinks sound right in his products, just say’n