Which TT cartridge would you choose?

Pictured below are the specs for two cartridges. Which would you choose (and why) for a ClearAudio Concept Wood TT + Satisfy tone arm + EAR 834P stage? Price for first is $1400 and the second is $3300. Deliberately not telling you the brand and model. Current cart is a clear audio concept v2.

I’m not an expert in analog (or anything else really) so your rationale would be educational.

First

Second

If your phono stage has high enough gain and appropriate loading resistance/capacitance options I’d choose the second low output cart. I’m sure that’s also the more expensive option. Primary advantages with low output cartridges are less moving mass and better detail retrieval.

I personally love my Aphelion2 from Rega with a Rega TT since it uses a 3-point mounting scheme which makes installation much easier.

1 Like

Thanks. Is there any way to test out a cartridge before buying?

I also prefer the seconnd one. My reason is the stylus, the microline picks up amazing detail over the elliptical. Mine is a Rega Apheeta 3 giving me the best sound to date for my vinyl. Enjoy the music.

2 Likes

The key with a microline or shibata stylus is dialing in the SRA. Both can be rather finicky. Having a tonearm that provides for on the fly height adjustment can be beneficial with either stylus type. Personally when selecting a phono cartridge I’d work with your local dealer. Specifications alone don’t tell the whole sonic story IME. Best of luck with your decision.