A new multichannel SACD-playing conglomeration

Back, again, to this; see Increasing the quality of my multichannel-SACD system
for an earlier post.

A couple weeks ago I heard a new-to-me TWO-channel system that sounded simply spectacular and the BEST-EVER in my experience… Its heart was a pair of large Sound Lab electrostatic speakers similar to their current Majestic 745… https://www.soundlabspeakers.com/majestic/
Its frontend included an MSB-brand SACD player, DAC, and powersupply driving a pair of 800-some-Watt Musical Fidelity monoamps… The system displayed fabulous resolution (including spaciousness), cohesiveness, and tonality including some bottom-octave bass… A distinct bonus was that sounds of massed strings had virtually NO steelyness/harshness/edgyness, something I’ve been seeking for several years.

So…do I start over (again) with my quest for such a thing (IN MULTICHANNEL!) that I can afford? I’ve been stewing about this for months, the principal problem being that there’s NO WAY to synchronize the output levels of more than one PSA DAC of any kind… This is in spite of all the statements included in the DirectStream Memory Player’s Owner’s Manual… I’ve been considering the Okto 8-channel DAC or using two PSA DACs with the Surround DAC instantly accessible (for level tweaks) from my listening seat… Today a practicable solution came to mind–a separate, all-analog multichannel preamp fed by a Memory Player driving two PSA DACs via I2S… I have a Memory Player coming and have made an offer on a Bel Canto PRe-6 preamp, and will soon order a PSA DirectStream DAC Mk.II for front channels and a GainCell DAC for Surrounds… Using this system will require switching a couple pairs of cables between my Marantz pre/pro and the BC preamp, but that’s easy and quick in my system.

So is this system worth $13K? I don’t know, but I soon will. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like