Audirvana vs, J River for DSD playback

I am new to digital file downloads/playback and so far I have only used iTunes to play Qobuz files.

All my files are PCM but I want to start downloading and playing DSD files (which iTunes won’t play).

From what I gather online, for DSD playback it’s basically a choice between J River and Qobuz. Anyone familiar with both players?

Any opinions on which is easier to operate and has better sound quality?

FWIW, my converter is the RME ADI-2 DAC and my computer is an Apple iMac running OSX High Sierra 10.13.6.

I’m not using PS Audio gear.

Thanks.

Audirvana with DMG Audio plug in EQuick is one that I use. Roon as well. I have a JRMC25 master license, but it mostly collects dust these days.

Interface Roon is the best. Sound Q is very good. Audirvana is excellent too. Interface on JMRC can be tough unless you really get dialed in on it. Roon and Audirvana support is good.

I have been using jriver since I started computer audio. I use jremote w my tablet and I find it works swell - looks great - and I think is simple to use. I have terabytes of music on hard drives that I put into my libraries ( Jazz/Rock/classical). If I recall - everything loaded up fast considering the size of the library and the search capability is great. I play bit perfect… have a lot of sacd iso files / dsf etc … and everything plays without a hitch.

My question is about sound quality using bit perfect. Do you find audirvana to sound better than jriver? And if so - how?

I have used jriver with remote on ipad for years. Used a tryout version of audirvana a few weeks ago and it really is much better than jriver! How? I do not know. It seems that it configures my nuc computer in a way which reduces noise or timing. Try it!
Berlin

Cool. And I didn’t mean ‘how’ how. But what improvements …:slight_smile: maybe I’ll look it up and do some investigating. Always trying to get the last drop out of it aren’t we?