Directstream DAC compared to EMM Labs technology

Hello,

So, EMM Labs has a proprietary DSP that is unique in its ability to preserve the phase, frequency and dynamic integrity of the waveform.

How does the DS with Huron compare? An EMM Labs dealer told me this is why EMM labs so effortless and analog like. It doesn’t have any “pre or post” ringing. I’m not an engineer but, was curious how the DS design is different and or comparable.

Thanks

I own a EMM DAC6e and indeed it does sound good, as did their earlier BiDat technology. It was the device that allowed me to hear that PCM wasn’t “evil” compared to my favorite technology DSD. In the hands of the DAC6e PCM did have a flow that was lacking in most other DACs at the time IMO. As I was working on the DS prototype I’d often compare it’s sound to the sound of the DAC6e. When people would ask me what the DS sounded like my canned answer was that it’s like an EMM or Playback Designs DAC.

Both the EMM gear and the DS use FPGAs to do custom filters rather than relying on pre cooked algos in DAC chips, etc. In the FPGA we can use much more accurate math or more involved algos than DAC chips, etc. We don’t need to economize how many multiplies we use or pick magic coefficients that happen to have a lot of 0’s in them to save work, etc.

Still I think most would agree that (starting at some release) the DS does sounds better with CDs and other PCM. It’s not possible to not have any pre OR post ringing, it is possible to trade off, say, preringing to post ringing or lower preringing by compromising the frequency response. Post ringing is much more benign to our ears, we are used to things ringing after they are struck, not just before they are struck :slight_smile: