Excellent Ethernet Audio Cable Debunk!

Man… Im reposting soemthing I just read elsewhere becuse the guys really nails the whole logic around what a network cable really does…

Enjoy… and sell that 400 Ethernet cable now!

If any of you is interested in the science of data transmission read further.
I work in the N/W industry and do know a bit of this stuff.

The 2 most common n/w protocols used for data transfer or streaming are:

• TCP (Transmission Control Protocol)
  • UDP (User Datagram Protocol)
    TCP is a “connection oriented” mechanism which is required for data integrity and for time insensitive transfers.
    UDP is a “connection less” mechanism which is used for data transfer which is time sensitive.

Common examples of TCP being used are file transfers, web browsing, etc. Here data integrity is paramount. It is OK for the web page to load in 0.5 secs or 1.5 secs, but it should load correctly and completely. How does TCP guarantee this? Connection oriented mechanism. If there is a loss of data, re-transmission is applied until everything is delivered.

Common examples of UDP being used are audio/video transfers. Here data is time sensitive. If a chuck of audio or video data arrives late, it is useless. Re-transmission does not help. But this protocol is light weight compared to TCP hence the wide usage.

Let’s talk about Audio streaming.
Streaming service (e.g Spotify/Tidal) ↔ ISPYour home routerApplication/playerDACAmpSpeakers
Networking is involved from the Streaming service to Application/player (note the bi-di arrows to highlight networking segment)
Here the service may choose to use TCP to render their collection for user browsing etc and UDP for actual audio streaming.
Why?
One cannot browse if the data integrity is compromised or incomplete.
But one can still hear songs even if a small chunk of data was lost. It will only result in a jump or a null in the song.