How To Spec a System

I’m an engineer by training and trade who spends his work days on hydraulic systems and components that aren’t meeting performance or reliability requirements. Each component, including interconnects (hoses, tubes, etc) play a role in performance. Their relative contribution depends on what aspect or where in the performance envelope the system is operating. The environment the system is operating in is an important consideration. Systems are designed to maximize performance in a small range of the overall performance envelope. Compromised or less than optimal component performance is acceptable outside that maximum performance range so long as basic system requirements are met. The closer the system is operated to its optimized requirements the more sensitive performance is to individual component sensitivities.
The largest contributor to my job security is failure to accurately define system and therefor component requirements. Is this sounding at all familiar?
Leaning on my professional experience, I’m realizing that I’m trying to build a new system with a pretty piss poor set of requirements. I’d be surprised if my experience is uncommon among the relatively inexperienced. Where is the audiophile neophyte to go to build a comprehensive system requirement doc?

3 Likes

Great question.
I think a budget needs to be established first. Then there is a good progression of budget use in Paul’s book. It’s a good place to start at least.
I think a good place to start is with the least amount of boxes. Maybe just a streaming DAC and integrated amplifier to start. Spend as much as you can on speakers but that’s a whole other discussion.
Maybe a set of active streaming speakers would be a good place to start? My simplest system is just a pair of KEF LS50 Wireless 2’s with a set of SVS micro subs. I stream from my phone using the KEF software. It gives great satisfaction with a minimum of boxes and choices.

4 Likes