Smart Meters and Audio

Has anyone had their electric power meter changed to a smart meter and found a detrimental effect on their audio system sound quality? I declined the change primarily due to concerns over radiated RF power, however, I was also wondering about other effects it may have on appliances due to noise from it’s switch mode power supply right at the power panel in addition to radiated RF.

This is part of what I do for a living. The meters internal current carrying device is essentially a copper or low resistance bimetallic. The internal wiring is copper mostly and cad welded. The resistance is so low it cannot be measured unless with special equipment. The old meters are the same Inside but the new ones have digital read outs as opposed to the old ones with magnetic coils to turn the dials based on current flow.

It is the same now but with digital board to monitor the current flow. I cannot imagine it making any difference I have both in different homes and offices. Do you use a ps power product…??

2 Likes

I do not use a PS power product but I do use a Monster HTPS-7000 MKii power conditioner for all components except amplifiers. My biggest concern is the RF output of the smart meter and to a lesser extent the SMPS used to power the digital electronics.

If you are concerned about RFI and SMPS noise from the smart meter causing audio quality issues then you had better unplug almost everything in your house. You might need for your neighbor to do the same too. I would say that any electrical noise from the smart meter would be no worse than a digital clock, if even that much. Almost certainly much less than that of a WiFi router or any similar equipment.

J.P.

2 Likes
This is part of what I do for a living.

How do these meters communicate with home base? Is it an RF transmitter? What frequency? What is the transmit power?