The sound of gold, sourced from neutron stars

What might be the specific electrical parameters that give gold its often-stated, “warm” “smooth” characteristic? It’s surely not its resistance.

We could have cables of say, copper, silver and gold with gauge adjusted for identical impedance and yet they would surely sound quite different. (Not that I’ve seen pure golden cable, but hey, why not)
Do we have to go to the quantum level to explain the differences in transmission, or do materials just happen to have different frequency dependent resistity characteristics (well, impedance, again…)
Can we not measure this? If not, how come?

I’m no expert. From pure material differences I can confirm the well know sound characteristic behavior. I heard otherwise very similar solid core copper, silver and gold and the characteristic was the common sense you mentioned.

But if one has the chance to modify the molecular structure of conductors, material doesn’t play a big role anymore. That’s why it’s possible that the main effect of different materials is its molecular structure.

Aside of that, if a cable sounds analytical, bright, neutral or warm, imo is more depending on the design than the material at the end.

From a pure materials viewpoint assuming everything else is matched, how do the basic molecular bonds of copper, silver and gold really differ? Might the density quite simply have to do with perceivable differences?
Aren’t copper, silver and gold lattices cubic face centered?

I’m not sure how much they differ and if that’s the reason. Didn’t even google…maybe reasons are quite documented.

my thought would be, that it’s no just cable, but also connectors plays role here.
then, as @jazznut mentioned , cable audio quality depends on the conductor structure (google OHNO cast, copper long-crystals) - when i moved from OFC to OCC (Ohno cast) i have immediately heard more natural sound (like less noise/grain)