Why Musicians Need Philosophy

Click: Why Musicians Need Philosophy

Well, that was interesting. The author was writing from a plane well above the average, and seemed to take himself perhaps a bit too seriously. Not sure if I read it right, but I certainly don’t think all musicians need philosophy, but I have no issue with some incorporating it. Music is after all, for enjoyment. Some will take enjoyment from a philosophical addition, but probably most won’t, at least not to the extent the author seems to think. Elk, what’s your take on this (you being a musician)? For reference I’m not a musician and not a philosopher, so perhaps I’m not in the best position to assess?

Could it be philospophers need music?

Music is a higher revelation than all wisdon and philosophy, Ludwig van Beethoven

I find his message valid. We need a shared musical language and history for music to make sense, and forcing intellectual constructs onto the making of music (such as every pitch of a 12-tone scale must be used at least once every ten measures, etc.) deprives music of its communicative powers.

I recently attended the premier of a contemporary violin concerto, highly recommended composer, enthusiastically performed. Yet but for the program notes I would not have known what it meant (happy? sad? distressed? optimistic?). Without a language, it was merely squeaks and groans - less expressive than the babblings of a pre-verbal child.

And there is no chance that by repeated listening it could become more meaningful?

It may become more comfortable, less strange. But it will not gain meaning.

An analogy is a non-speaker listening to a recording of Mandarin with no context, no idea of the topic.

I can listen to it as many times as I would like but will never know if the speaker is telling me about his favorite sister, reading the phone book, or revealing state secrets.