A Couple Of DirectStream Questions

I am in the process of considering the purchase of a DS, with most likely the Bridge II upgrade. I will mainly use this device for streaming TIDAL and Qobuz. I have subscribed to each company’s high resolution service.

I currently use a Node 2i to accomplish this. I have read that the internal DAC of the Node is mediocre at best. I will say however I love the user interface of the Node’s software. I can control both TIDAL and Qobuz efficiently from my smart phone.

From what I have read online is that the DS does an Amazing job with TIDAL and Qobuz, however the UI (especially for smart phones) kind of sucks. I guess you have to use an app called Mconnect.

A few questions as I am a newbie.

Would it make sense to feed the Node into the DS via optical cable and still have the benefits of the Node UI and the DS hardware? Would I lose sound quality in the in the MQA files by doing this?

Or would it be better to stream to the DS via the Bridge II option and just deal with the poor UI of the Mconnect app? Are there other smart phone apps recommended to control the DS?

My main goal is to control both programs via my smart phone. I do not have a computer based music server

Opinions welcomed

Josh

Josh. If you are using an external streamer i.e. the node, then there is no need for the bridge in the DSD Dac sr. The connection you have outlined is how I have mine set up. I opted for not having the bridge. Using an Auralic Aries mini streamer that I hope to upgrade in the future.

Don’t know about the MQA.

Hope this is helpful.