AURALiC Aries G1 Anyone?

I saw in a post a few days ago someone mentioned they were using the Aries G1 streamer. It was an aside and not the topic so I cannot find it now.

Does anyone have any experience with this unit? I am looking to update my Cambridge Audio CXN original model. The CXN does everything I need it to do but it is the weak link in my otherwise all PS Audio kit.

I did read on the AURALiC website that WiFi may be a better connection than Ethernet. This would be ideal for me. Also read that their Lightning Link (on the G2) is proprietary and not I2S compatible.

Thanks in advance community.

To find the earlier references, enter Aries G1 in the search box which appears after clicking on the magnifying glass in the upper right.

Iā€™m one guy who bought a G1 last week, and Iā€™m loving it. Itā€™s a match made in heaven with the DSD.

I have been using various Macs and Android tablets for a couple of years, with BubbleUPnP and Roon. SQ was always good, but not great.

The G1 was a great surprise to me, and has delivered striking sound - far better than any of the any general-purpose-computer stuff Iā€™ve heard. It is as transparent as any source Iā€™ve ever heard - even sounds better than CDs on my heavily-modified Oppo.

Iā€™ve been using BubbleDS with it, and it works like Auralicā€™s Lightning DS player app - it sends the playlist to the G1, and the G1 takes over from there - retrieving the music and playing it back through a 1gB buffer for best sound - Bubble or Lightning is only the real-time control and visualization app. The significant shortcoming with Bubble is that it doesnā€™t offer any Internet radio that I could get working, and Lightning DS does support it well.