BHK 250 Stereo Amp Tubes

Hello,

I recently became the proud owner of a BHK 250 Stereo Amp. The tubes needed to be replaced so I went with the Gold Lion 6922 direct from PS Audio. I am pleased with how the amp sounds, but I would love to start finding the set of tubes to hone in my preferred sound. I am very new to tubes, but I have done some research prior to posting. Looking online it seems many like the Telefunken E88CC-TK’s as a tube to provide greater clarity/detail (link below). My question is if I were to order a pair of Telefunken’s would I want a matched pair or matched pair with balanced triodes? Are people referencing a different Telefunken E88CC than my link below?

Link: E88CC-TK Vacuum Tube (6922) - TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik

I apologize for the new questions, as I said I am very new to tubes and I did not find a direct result in doing a search last night.

Thank you all!

1 Like

The matched pair with the balanced triodes would be the best option. I have tried various tubes and am currently using a set of Amperex Bugel Boys. Have fun trying different tubes.

2 Likes

The tubes you link to are not the tubes that are generally preferred. Those are a modern “recreation” of the original tubes (and they cost far less money.) Real Telefunkens are rare, expensive, and rather hard to find. Someone like Brent Jesse is a good source:

http://www.audiotubes.com/6dj8.htm

Telefunken listings are at the top of the page section listing his inventory in that tube variety. Don’t necessarily get hung up on the idea that Telefunken is the best in every system. Depends on your goals and sound preferences.

1 Like

Welcome @HiFi89 !

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @HiFi89.

This topic has a good bit of info.

1 Like