BHKPre not working with 6DJ8’s?

Hi everyone

I’m not sure if this is associated with faulty tubes or me missing something.

I recently bought a couple of sets of 6DJ8 tubes for my BHK preamp. I put them in and go no sound. I put the stock tubes back in and they’re fine so it’s not the preamp.

I’m thinking maybe I need to move the jumper or are the tubes faulty?

I’m not very technically minded so want to ask the question before I start fiddling with things.

Thanks

You have to move the jumpers from the 12v to the 6v settings and you may want to move the bias jumpers to the 5 milliamp setting. It’s in the manual.

1 Like

Thanks. Maybe it’s me but the manual wasn’t clear.

Looks like my jumpers were already set for 5ma…

When it’s only on one pin like the attached pic from the manual, I guess this is 4ma and when the two pins are connected it’s 5ma?

There are two sets of jumpers.

The 6 series needs the 6v and 5ma jumpers set.

greetings, please read this thread that i started. my experience is that for whatever reason, the 6 volt tubes will not work well and can be problematic. if you are going to use NOS tubes, stick with the 12au7 or a 7DJ8
Anyone having issues with a noisy channel on the BHK preamp

2 Likes

Thanks.

I spent all day listening to the 6DJ8’s and I don’t like them. They sound harsh. I’ve put my gold lions back in which sound fantastic.

I also have some 7dj8’s here I’ll try next. Are they okay to run on 12v?

JH, the 7dj8 need to be on the 6v setting-12v is only for the 12au7s… good luck.

1 Like

Thank you…

One last question I asked above but didn’t get answered.

Is the bias pin at 5ma when the jumper is on both pins? I assume the pic in the manual is the 4ma setting?

this should be helpful.

1 Like

To the orig poster, I used Telefunken 6dj8 in my BHK pre. They are my favorite tube in that application and they work perfectly once voltage and current are correct.

Correct.

1 Like