Calling all trained listeners

Today’s Paul’s Posts has numerous references to “trained listeners”. This is a frequent occurrence.

I’ve never had listening training.

Is anyone out there a trained listener?
Where do you get such training?
What do they teach you?

I am self-taught :wink:

4 Likes

It was easy for me… Prodigy.

2 Likes

It cost me, a lot of money in gear to get my training.

5 Likes

It’s what my wife would like me to be.

10 Likes

Many countries recognize Tonmeister degrees.

That’s the perfect answer, I hadn’t anticipated.

2 Likes

To be honest with you, it does take time and effort. Some, who for decades have worked with or installed systems professionally, with that comes a set of experiences that only having done it reveals. Having the ability to hear some really good systems, gives you a benchmark. Or working in the audio industry. Knowing how music is actually produced, or having experience as a musician, where you know exactly what the pit sounds like, or 7 rows back. These experiences all give benchmarks for your own senses to have a frame of reference.

2 Likes

So I’ve been to several thousand concerts, recitals, opera and ballet, but does that make me a trained listener to tell one cable from another in today’s Paul Post? My only musical credential is a role in the choir of Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, and it wasn’t professional as I was 9 years old at the time.

1 Like

What do you think?

I thought Duncan and @DarrenMyers did a nice job of discussing practice/training our listening skills in their recent HiFi Podcast.

2 Likes