Can you tell just by the specs if amp and speakers are a good match?

I’m fairly new to the whole audio world, so please forgive me, if my question is kinda obvious.

But I’ve been wondering if it is possible to select an amp for a set of speakers or vice versa just by the specs?

The reason I’m asking is, I heard a set of speakers with an amp producing 35W into 8Ohm and with another amp rated at 75W into 8Ohm. The more powerful amp sounded great while the less powerful one completely lacked bass. Yet the weaker one can get loud enough to cause permanent hearing damage. So why does it have the power to get very loud, but for some reason not the power to produce decent bass? And is there a way of telling just by looking at the specs?

Thanks
Simon

Yes, you can tell, to a degree, if an amp is a good match for speakers… but a better approach, is simply look for an amp with “good specs”. This kind of an amp will match with many if not all major speakers.

In short, you want an amp than can produce watts into difficult loads (this may explain why some amps lack bass but have a high 8 ohm watt spec… etc.). This is known as a “high current” amp. To see if an amp is such a a thing, look at its specs… a good amp maker will show you the wattage output into different loads (known as ohms). So… a really good amp will put out double the watts for halving of the load. Example spec: 100 watts into 8 ohms, and 200 watts into 4 ohms. That is a great amp spec. Further, some really good (and expensive amps) will describe their output down to 2 ohms… 400 watts into 2 ohms. Now that is a fabulous amp (and unfortunately very expensive). Difficult loads are smaller ohm numbers and require an amp push harder (and run hotter).