Considering the DSJr

Hi,

I have been looking over the PSA products for a month and spent the last couple of days looking at the forum etc and I must say that I am pleasantly surprised at how service minded the company is. It is the first place where I have seen company founders, product designers etc get involved in the forums and customer contacts. Kudos to you!

Background:

In 2010, after listening to high res 24/192 music at a shop, I moved away from vinyl and sold off my old Linn LP12. As a data network and software engineer by trade it made a lot of sense. But (there had to be a but in here…) ever since then I have been looking to put together a complete solution for my house and it has always fallen short in one aspect or another. For me it has always been about the musical experience and never the technology behind it. For me the technology gets in the way of the experience if it requires too much fiddling about to get it to work. So far every solution I have looked at (and owned) has come short in one aspect or another. I liked the Meridian Soolos UI but I don’t like the Meridian sound, I liked the Linn DS but hated the UI, I liked the NAIM UI but found it too limiting in the streaming services offered etc. In 2012 I sort of gave up and settled for a headless MacMini going to a Zodiac DAC connected to my MBL amp that drives my MBL speakers (I know MBL is not for everyone but I really like the music experience I get with them). Then the fiddling started since the sound was ok but could definitely be better… so a number of USB cables, re-clockers etc have flowed through my setup but I have never been completely satisfied as I know the sound can be better with a dedicated streamer… Then Tidal and Roon came along and I thought “finally this could be the path forward” if the equipment manufacturers pick this up. My wish then was that someone would build a Roon Ready streamer that was also capable of acting as a proper preamp… I have looked at many solutions fr