DAC MK2 Output to Subwoofer

Newbie here but went all in with the concept/approach of PS Audio. I just bought a full stack, Powerplant 12, MK2 DAC, M700s, AirLens. I have XLR from DAC to amps and am trying to add a new SVS Micro 3000 subwoofer via the DAC’s Left and Right RCA outs to the unbalanced L/R inputs to the sub. I even sprang for AudioQuest Mackenzie Analog Interconnects… but when I enable the RCA output, and the music is playing, I get a very loud hum/buzz coming out of the main speakers (!) and no audible sound from the sub. If I turn off the sub while the music is playing, the hum/buzz goes away. I tested with a different system (my home theater) and the sub works fine. SVS Support posits a “back-feed issue between the two sets of outputs” from the PSA DAC. Sadly, PS Audio Support has not responded. Any idea of what, if anything, I am doing wrong? I appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

-Mark

Mark, wekcome to t he forums, and sounds like youll have a great new system once you figure out this issue. I can’t give any advice on your technical issue, however, if you’ve only contacted support via email, I’d highly recommend calling them instead.

Sounds like a ground loop. Is the sub on the same circuit as the dac? If no can you test by putting in an extension cord from sub to dac ac circuit?

Thank you both for the quick replies! I have only done email and Messaged via the web page. Not much of a phone guy but will try to break from work to call during their limited Help Desk hours.

Was on the same circuit (home run) as the DAC but I thought the PowerPlant was supposed to take care of all that. Anyway, tried multiple outlets in the home with a solid extension cord and got the same damn noise. If I remove the XLR, no problem, sub emits. Gotta be an issue with the DAC. :frowning:

Tested multiple sources into the DAC, tested different RCA cables, no difference. Same damn noise.