DIY Room Treatments for this Impossible Room

Hi. Newbie here. Thanks for having me!

Couple of questions for the knowledgeable folks out there:

1. I have a small room, 16x11. One corner opens to my kitchen. Another corner opens to an open curtained closet. Another corner has a door. Only one corner is a typical wall meets wall. How to treat these corners? Bass traps are too wide for these atypical corners.

2. My speakers usually stand next to a tall wooden entertainment cente (taller than the speakers). Is this problematic sonically? Do the sides of the speakers reflect on that wooden piece. Do I have to pull them out and away?

Thanks for any responses. I have done my due dilligence in searching out answers on other forums but have not found any info with real specificity as it applies to my situation.

-Paul

1 Like

Welcome. Why do you think you need room treatments?

The first step is to setup the room without any treatments and see what needs treating. Are your speakers positioned well? How does it sound? Are your frequency response measurements in REW looking hot or hollow in certain bands?

2 Likes

Welcome to the Forum, you’ll get good friendly advice here. That said I won’t give any! I would like @vee ask what you feel is missing and then look to potential fixes before offering to fix what may not be broken. I am guessing since you brought up bass traps that you’re seeing too much bass, the reflexive answer to that is move the speakers out from the wall. I guess that counts as advice, oh well. Good luck in the journey. Cheers, Jim

1 Like

I like your response Vee, because it leads me to the possibility of not needing room treatments. : )