Dr Aix on Oppo, SACD, DSD, & PS Audio

I still receive the occasional newsletter from Dr AIX. He implied that with Oppo gone we would have to turn to Tidal or Spotify. So I pointed out that their are many options, and, well read it, my post, his comments.
The guy has lost all credibility in my opinion. You can post there, but he reviews all comments before they get posted.

According to him an Oppo is as good as a DMP/DSD combo.
Here is the link:
http://www.realhd-audio.com/?p=6074

Apparently, they don’t teach grammar and proofreading at MIT—a reference to his excuse for his book having many typos since his son was tasked with copy editing his book. I am far from an expert on these topics but his know-it-all attitude is off-putting.

Here is an old thread that discussed Dr. AIX.

Geez, after reading that last thread provided by st50maint, I am a little sorry about opening that can of worms again.

I only mentioned my PWT to make the point that a dedicated transport and hi-end DAC is superior to the Oppo. And not to slight Oppo, but to make the point that for audiophiles there are many, although usually more expensive, options for playing discs. The funny thing is that to play DSD files, JRiver has to convert it to 24/176, as my main DAC doesn’t do DSD, only PCM.
And I’m not aware of any similar priced, and of similar quality universal players. But when it comes to CD players, transports and DACs, there are many options for the audiophile. I do think it will be the home theater and videophiles who will be most impacted.
It was his reply that got me, although I shouldn’t have been surprised. What did kind of surprise me, was the talk of his book having multiple errors. Was it self published? If not, I thought book publishers had professional proofreaders.