Forum members' careers

A recent comment about an audiophile firefighter in another thread prompted me to wonder about our own respective careers. I’d be very interested in learning what you all do or did to make a living, if people are willing to divulge. I’ve searched on the word “career” and didn’t get any relevant hits.

I’m happy to begin. I’m a registered architect with 43 years of practice experience. I’ve spent the last 8 years as a building code official for the state of Indiana, and I’m now into my 5th year as State Building Commissioner, a gubernatorial appointment. I expect to retire in two more years, hence the recent “last gasp” updating of my modest system - soon regular wages will be gone. :wink:

Anyone else care to join in?

12 Likes

I’m an Electrical Engineer by education and experience and have been at it for the past 36 years in one form or another. I currently work as an Engineering Manager and certainly appreciate this side of the business more than when I was a purely technical contributor. Areas of expertise include distributed, embedded control systems as applied to several types of products from Ion Implanters (used to make ICs) to active magnetic bearings for high speed rotating equipment (my current employer).

I’ve been an audio “nut” (phile?) for most of my life. Have always been into music both live and recorded from a very early age. I always appreciate technical data and justification for why a given component or system works well in an audio application. I acknowledge there will always be some “secret sauce” that makes a system sound particularly great but have no interest in the true snake oil stuff like mats or mystery potted objects you place in your incoming power panel. Nope!

13 Likes

I’m a 56-year-old English major.
:upside_down_face:

9 Likes

I am a 53-year-old US Air Force officer about to retire (hopefully) because I don’t want to put my precious PS Audio gear through another military move!

16 Likes