Glass Toslink Recommendations (Lifatec, etc)

Looking for suggestions of glass toslink that will handle 24/192 on the DS or DSJ. I found this Lifatec for $119 for 1M. Anyone tried it or has another recommendation?

Ted suggests glass is best, but I couldn’t find a specific cable recommendation.

I only have experience with cheap plastic Toslink cables so I’m far from an expert. However, I want to get a better optical cable and am trying to decide between the Lifatec and the Glass Master Toslink from DH Labs Silver Sonic. I’ve read good things about the Lifatec online, and The Cable Company has given me an enthusiastic recommendation for the Glass Master even though they carry a lot of more expensive optical cables that don’t sound as good (I’m told). I think that either of these would be a solid choice.

1 Like

I’ve tried a half a dozen optical cables, plastic and glass (nothing too expensive and exotic), and settled on Lifatec about seven years ago. LOVE it.

3 Likes

Yes, I’ve read many positive things about the Lifatec on Computer Audiophile forums, it has a very stong reputation. Another member hear just PM’d me that he owned the Glass Master and didn’t care for it, saying it was a bit harsh.

He recommended this one, saying its more natural, and a great bargain at $44 for 1 meter, half the price of LIfatec and 75% less than the Glass Master.:
http://www.sysconcept.ca/product_info.php?products_id=364

Does your Lifatec handle 24/192 and DSD 64 ok on your DS or DSJ? Thanks

It looks like the SysConcept cable is plastic rather than glass, is that correct?

I believe yes, its plastic…

I don’t know. I have only used it with lower resolutions I(DVR, Blu-ray). Currently it is in my second system, I moved my main system, removed video, and the DSD is only fed via HDMI with Redbook and SACD. The Lifatec cable is in my second, audio/video system connecting a DVR to an Oppo UDP-205. I have never found it harsh, it’s the least so of any other cable I tried.