M700 M1200 amplifier upgrades continued

Hello all forum brothers and sisters. I’m a newbie. I’ve seen a lot a topics out there so I apologies for beating a dead horse, but hey thats what the forum is for right?

I recently purchased a pair of M700’s thru The Music Room and I’m patiently awaiting them. I saw that PSA has a link for connections in the products section. I already have upgraded cables on my components and was wondering if anyone has tried the audio quest cables with their own M700’s or M1200’s? Particularly the AQ Monsoon that PS Audio recommends.

I have the NRGZ3 which is one down on the AQ food chain so I’m curious if $225 (the cost increase over NRG3Z to Monsoon x2) upgrade investment in audio cable would see a noticeable improvement in performance?

I’m also using AQ Red River XLR’s which happens to be one down on the chain from the Mackenzies which PS audio recommends. So if anyone has any input to these upgraded cable suggestions I’d love to here from you!

Thanks, Paul

Oh no. Another Paul. lol.
I have the BHK Pre and M700 and use the red river xlr between them and am extremely happy with them. I also have older (20 years old), but very good Cardas Quadlink 5-C rca’s running from music source to the BHK Pre, and like the sound of those better than AQ Mackenzie rca from source to pre. The Cardas sound fuller, smoother, more open, with more bloom than AQ Mackenzie (in my system). If I was going to upgrade cables from pre to power amps, I would go with either AQ water or the crazy expensive Cardas Clear Reflection, but am definitely staying with red river for now.

Thank you adifferentpaul,

Sounds like the upgrade I should be saving for is the BHK Pre! I see a lot of M700 owners that must be using it. I’m using the Stellar right now and I’m pleased with the results but the BHK has me thinking!

2 Likes

First time Forum poster, long time audiophile.