NAS Advantages?

Can the networking experts tell me if there are advantages to using a NAS compared to my Mini daisy chained FireWire working and backup drives ? I don’t see a need to access these music files from my network, eg,I have no other music computers, or am I missing something ? I backup with Time Machine. Thks for any comments.

I’m not a network expert, but I do run a Synology NAS. There is not necessarily any advantage, the potential advantages are:

1. Access music from multiple locations. (This is not an issue for you.)

2. Avoid the need to run a computer when playing music. This does not necessarily provide better SQ, although it might, depending on your exact setup. Is the computer that plays music used for other things, or can you configure it for best SQ by turning off other processes etc.? Do you have a Bridge? The Bridge can be finicky, but some people find it provides better SQ than the USB input on the PWD. YMMV.

I don’t have a place to put a computer in the music room, and I just like not having to run one to play music–an iPad or Android tablet makes a nice controller. Plus it’s convenient since I can download, tag, and backup files from either of my networked computers.

Yes I have a tweaked, dedicated Mini. And a Bridge but with my current USB cable and Empirical A Short block, no longer prefer it. One reason I posted this is to see if anyone thought my backups might be more secure with a NAS. For my daisy chained backup drive I have two which I rotate monthly, keeping one off site. I run JRiver with JRemote on my iPad for control.