New room New power

Hi all.

I am building a new dedicated room. I will have my amp/pre/DS/PC/electrostats all pulling power. All this along with lights and possibly a tv in a separate room.

Any suggestions on circuits - 1 or 2? 15 amp or 20? Should stereo all be on one circuit? Any products (special plugs etc recommended?). Thanks in advance. Tim

Adding more lines when you are doing one or two doesn’t cost that much more. In my previous house I did four and then later added more. In my current house we just did eight to start. Note: I have a surround system and mono blocks so my system probably is larger than most.

I’m not an expert in household electrical wiring or code issues so check the following with your electrician, etc.:

It’s not the average current draw (15 or 20 amps, etc.) that matters for most audio equipment but the instantaneous current that’s available. Your system will probably sound more dynamic with something like #10 conductors and 20 amp breakers than #12 with 15 amp breakers…

Make sure all of the breakers are on the same phase of the household wiring (usually the same side of the breaker box.)

Typically you want to avoid light dimmers near your system or at least get better quality dimmers - our electrician picked out some dimmers that don’t seem too bad for the audio system.

Very cool Ted. Thanks a lot.