Perfectwave Bridge, NAS and the DirectStream - questions

So I’m a newbie when it comes to music servers, but would love to set one up for the DirectStream.

When I say newbie, I mean it. I know virtually nothing. Yet I’m hoping to get some advice to get it right the first time.

I was thinking since I already have the DirectStream, it might be cost effective to just buy the Perfectwave Bridge, a NAS drive (Synology) with a few terabyte hard drives, some cables, and a UPS battery backup. I’ve got a desktop so I could configure the NAS drive from there.

Now some questions…

• If I buy the Perfectwave Bridge… could I just plug a pre-configured NAS drive directly into the Bridge (thru RJ45 connection), and then control everything with an iPad and a remote control type app?

• Which remote control app should I consider using on the iPad?

• If I use Flac to store music on the NAS drive… will I need certain software to convert the Flac files on the fly, so the Bridge can play it?

• Would I be better off using a different type of file other then Flac to store my music?

I’m sure there are more questions, but this is a good start.

DEA said So I'm a newbie when it comes to music servers, but would love to set one up for the DirectStream.

When I say newbie, I mean it. I know virtually nothing. Yet I’m hoping to get some advice to get it right the first time.

I was thinking since I already have the DirectStream, it might be cost effective to just buy the Perfectwave Bridge, a NAS drive (Synology) with a few terabyte hard drives, some cables, and a UPS battery backup. I’ve got a desktop so I could configure the NAS drive from there.

Now some questions…

• If I buy the Perfectwave Bridge… could I just plug a pre-configured NAS drive directly into the Bridge (thru RJ45 connection), and then control everything with an iPad and a remote control type app?