PS amplifier for Tannoy Revolution XT 8F

Hello,
I am working on putting together my dream $5,000 system. The budget is somewhat flexible, but I would probably not exceed $6,000.
I have my eyes set on a pair of Tannoy XT 8F. What PS audio amplifier would match well with these? I could go with the monoblocks M700 but I think it would be overkill. How would the Stellar 300 work, in your opinion? I am new with PS Audio hardware,therefore looking for advise.
Thank you in advance for your help.

I have a friend who has these speakers and they are great. They’re 91 db so you’re pretty wide open for amp choices.
I would say that put your budget together and go from there. My personal default is that monoblocks sound better than stereo. And why would M700’s be overkill?

1 Like

M700s. I’m sure the Stellar 300 would work but…

I was interested in the Tannoy and monitor audio silver 300’s. My local Tannoy dealer doesn’t have them to listen to But I could listen to the 300’s and loved them so I am going with the Monitor audio. That being said I am going to order the M700’s with the Gain cell DAC. Everything I have read leads me to this.

The M700 are 350 Wpc, while the Tannoys are rated 100 Wpc continuous. I find the difference too large.

This does not present a problem. Many use amps capable of producing more power than a speaker’s rated RMS limit.

In one of Paul’s daily videos, he addresses this question.
The wattage is a not a problem. Doubtful you’ll ever crank them up that high anyway.

The S300 would be an excellent choice for the Tannoy but the M700 pair would be better - and they are not overkill. They will simply provide you a welcomed level of headroom which, believe me, you’ll love. But, wither would be excellent.