S300 Outputs

Hello All,

I am a newbie to the world of HiFi and also new to PS Audio. I just got the Stellar DCA and S300. Have been enjoying the clarity and what I was missing in music over the years. My question is, can the outputs of the S300 be used to drive two sets of speakers?

I read about BiWiring threads a bit. My speakers dont have two binding posts, so separating the bass versus highs is a No. I do have a pair of speakers which does well in highs and another pair which does well in the mid bass lower bass range. Can I use the s300 to drive total 4 speakers?

Thanks,
Gireesh

That should work, though it does depend on the speakers. What impedance do they have? You can put two pairs of 8Ω speakers in parallel (which makes the total impedance 4Ω), but I don’t think you should go below that with the S300. If their impedance is different, or if they’re 4Ω, that might be problematic.

There’s also the possibility that their impedance changes with frequency don’t match well, but that’s worth a try.

Thanks rkosara. The impedance are different, one pair is 8 and the other pairs are 6 .

That would be a total of about 3.5Ω and I just checked, the S300 page says that for 2Ω, it’s “stable for musical transients.” If you have cables and it’s not a huge deal, I’d just give it a shot. It might just work or it might be terrible. But you’re not going to damage anything (just make sure you turn the volume down before).

Wouldn’t recommend doing this. Though you might fill highs with one and lows with the other, you’ll have overlapping coverage of all frequencies, so your frequency response curve would be a mess. You need one good set of speakers and/or maybe a sub.

1 Like

Thanks guys. I already tried, it sounds bad. Will maintain status quo.

You can though you’ll want to make sure there’s not too low an impedance to pair them. Worst case is you add the second pair of speakers and the amp will go into protection mode, which won’t damage anything. Give it a try.