Soldering kit recommendations

So recently I’ve taken to buying up some older stuff to refurbish it. My latest project is a Pioneer PL55DX turntable. I’m quickly realizing the need for a Soldering kit. Interested to find recommendations. Thanks in advance!

My go-to for soldering supplies is partexpress.com. You’ll find kits at:

Soldering Irons (parts-express.com)

Plus everything else you’ll need such as soldering stations (e.g. if you want temperature control), desoldering supplies, pretty much every grade of solder you’re likely to need, etc.

All the years I spent as an electronic technician I used Weller products…end of story.

2 Likes

I’ve got a much older and simpler version of the Weller Soldering Station linked below, but if they still make stuff of similar quality I’d buy one. My station is ~40 years old and works like a charm.

3 Likes

I have two as well as a solder gun for the heavy duty stuff. The Wellers are exceptional. I have used them for…well a long time. I have since added this to my kit and can recommend it as well:

A proper work station, solder sucker and desoldering wick are essential. You may also want to invest in grounding straps to minimize the impact of static electricity as it will take out the board mounted ICs.

+1 for Weller

A good Weller with interchangeable tips is the only choice. You need ability to set temps and pick the right tip.

• Soldering a tone arm needs a pencil tip at lower temperature
  • Soldering interconnects needs a small blade tip at slightly higher temps
  • Soldering 12ga speaker wire is high heat with large tip

Weller does all of this with highly controllable temperature.

Also get a variety of tips: