Toslink to SPDIF

What is the best way to convert Toslink to SPDIF input on Sprout with highest quality transfer? A cable or converter recommendation would be appreciated.

Thx

I have no personal experience with it, but you could look at the Remedy Reclocker from Wyred 4 Sound.

Here’s a simple $16 solution from Amazon. Click here.51yknd1CWEL._SL1200_.jpg

What is the best digital connection from macbook pro to sprout

i am using the USB gives me max of 192000Hz

when i us the digital out from my macbook using an optical through a converter to coaxial end of the sprout i get only 96000 Hz the macbook pro 2012 max .

Can someone explain me the difference ? is it a converter problem.

Optical is limited in its ability to handle higher resolution audio. Your best best is USB, which can easily handle 192kHz - though it’s unclear this will do you any good if you don’t have higher resolution audio to play -as it is, Apple is just upsampling the signal to 192kHz - which some people like.

In a similar vein, I’d like to connect the Motorola DCH3416 cable box’s Coax audio to the Sprout, but it sends audio out in Dolby Digital AC-3, which the Sprout cannot decode (far as I know).

Is there a converter available that will down sample from DD AC-3 audio stream to just 2 stereo channels so the Sprout can at least reproduce stereo audio?

Most cable/satellite boxes have an on screen option to use either PCM or DD over the S/PDIF audio out.

I did try to set my cable box to PCM out, but that didn’t work (it must put out AC3 stream no matter what and won’t let user-set settings override that).

Bought a optical to coaxial converter box similar to what Paul McGowan suggested – worked perfectly!