Tube got noisy? Why? Common? Failure immenent?

I bet Paul loves these stories… hates those “fire bottles”.

I just had a Mullard NOS CV4003 / 12AU7 in my PrimaLuna HP integrated go noisy… sounds like static…fitzz… goes quiet … kinda random. Upscale Audio said the 6 month old tube was out of 90 day warranty and I needed to buy another. They asked for the test numbers on the box and they will match. $120 or thereabouts for one tube. I placed the order last night.

Questions
1- How common is this … any difference with new quality tubes and new old stock (NOS)?
2 - Why? What is happening in the tube?
3 - Is this the start of a failing tube that could damage my equipment?

I am not at all upset at Upscale… I have been using tubes for … since circa 1988 so I get it… tubes are a drug and a flaky one. However, I never did have one go noisy… usually they just stop working… or like all of them … the slow drip drip drip of neurosis inducing degradation.

Peace
Bruce in Philly

How does the getter look? if it is white the tube has an air leak.

If the tube is glowing purple or cherry red it has died. This can happen if the bias is incorrect, but typically the tube is just dying.

I’m sure you know to clean the pins if a tube is noisy just to make certain the connection is good.

Years ago I had this happen in an Atma-Sphere amp. I just replaced the tube and life was good. Sounds like a tube that is failing. As you know no one can really tell you how long a tube or anything for that matter is actually going to last.

I’m also a PrimaLuna HP Integrated owner and I love the amp!

I had one Tungsram PCC88 just begin to get a bit noisy after 600 hours in BHK preamp. I used it as an excuse to try some Amperex 7308 and found them to be much quieter than the quietest Tungsram I had.

The other tubes had been used for 6 months. Why they match the damn number on the box…Sounds…to me. And $120 is a lot of $$ for a CV4003. I will buy a 7316 tube instead.