What would a subwoofer bring to my 2-channel stereo?

I’m very new to the concept of subwoofers.

I am curious as to what I can expect by adding a subwoofer to my B&W 802D 2-channel stereo music only system.

I’ve heard Paul mention REL subwoofers, and also noticed that Abbey Road uses REL subwoofers with their B&W speakers.

Also, I’ve been on the REL website, and wouldn’t know which subwoofer would be the best match.

Can anyone shed some light onto this topic?

thanks in advance…

Assuming that the sub is placed in the appropriate location (see “sub crawl” on youtube): you would gain some low bass extension, generally improved bass, and possibly improved clarity from your stereo speakers. Bass is not always a strtaightforward subject; you may wish to consult Paul’s excellent book The Audiophile’s Guide: The Stereo. Note that the room, room treatments, and setup are as important as any equipment we purchase. Good luck, it’s a fun process!

2 Likes

Heads-up as REL has a subwoofer to speaker pairing guide on line. The for the B&W 802 the S/812 is recommended for a medium sized room. The 802D is not listed in the guide, butte S/812 is a fine subwoofer.

Thanks for that info… in anyone’s experience, would I need one or two subwoofers?

Two IME.

why is that? could you elaborate

One man’s explanation:

…which is consistent with my general understanding…

FYI.

My experience with subs:

1. DIY speakers with very good SEAS drivers. The further they are from the wall (now 3 feet to baffle) the better the sound stage but the bass really drops off due to room nodes.
  2. I had a DIY sub but could not integrate it very well so I sold it.