Workaround to achieve SACD playback via I2S form DMP Transport feeding non-PS Audio DAC

Hi guys; I have a DMP Transport which I LOVE; sadly, since I upgraded to a DAC not branded PS Audio I am now unable to enjoy the SACD layer of my SACD’s and must settle for Red Book CD quality via i2S. SQ is superb but I DO miss the even better quality achieved in the DSD domain. I have a Mola Mola Tambaqui and am wondering if anyone out there is aware of a “hack” or workaround since Sony apparently makes it difficult to impossible for dual branded products to communicate in this domain.

Thanks!

I know the answer to your question/questions…

A) The DMP must be set to output SACD-information from a hybrid disc (change the SACD-settings in the menu while having “no disc in the player”. Then load a disc and it will work

B) DoP (DSD over PCM)
You can send out DSD via DoP via your DMP-players AES/EBU to an external non PS Audio DAC. That means that the DSD-signal is divided in many small PCM-packages that at the reciving DAC throws away all PCM-container-information and puts together a RAW-DSD-file to be read by the DACs DSD-moudule/chip/FPGA. Usually you know that it works if an AES/EBU signal is locked at 172 mHz at the reciving end (not 16/44.1, 48, 96 or 192 but 172!).

C) The latest PS Audio transport can send out DSD via DoP all its outputs. The DMP only via AES/EBU.

D) Your Mola Mola Tambaqui can only read DoP via USB and i2S. The i2S in the Mola Mola Tambaqui uses the wiring in the hdmi-cable differently and are not compatible with the DMP´s output. This means that the Tambaqui can not accept the AES/EBU DoP from the DMP.

E) However, the Tambaqui can read DoP via i2S. This means that if you can transform the signal/settings in the i2S from the way the DMP sends it out to the way the Tambaqui needs to recieve it, then it will work.