Audirvana Studio

Audirvana is moving to a subscription model ($6.99 USD/month) for the new product.

If I’m going to spend $70/year, I’ll pony up for Roon. Not sure they are making the right biz decision here.

I have a lifetime Roon subscription. I will try Audirvana Studio for a month or two, and if it does what I like about Roon as well as Roon does and gives better sound, or equal sound and better UI/feature set, I will ditch Roon. But if the overall Studio experience isn’t better, I’ll stick with Roon. One advantage Audivana has is that it does not require the equivalent of “Roon Ready” to get all features out of it. I think Audirvana also has far more users. As it isn’t replacing v 3.5, just being offered as an upgraded experience, I do not see it at all as a gambit. But, I guess come 5/16, we shall see!

I’ve used JRiver MC since at least release 19 but never compared it to anything other than Foobar2000 the latter of which I’ve found an incredible PITA to set-up properly. Anyone compared Audirvana to JRiver in terms of sound quality? Just from a $ and ± point of view JRiver would be the more economical choice.

I know that on the Roon forum, almost everyone that uses Audirvana at all prefers it’s SQ to Roon’s. But they never seem to compare It to JRiver.

Oh, and I hate the JRiver UI.

Excuse the lazy newbie question but is Audirvana compatible with a PC or is it Mac friendly only?

Never mind – it does.

I’m going to take a wait and see approach. If it can offer something Roon doesn’t I might trial it. Sounds as if (and I may be wrong) standard Audirvana improvements wont be focused upon, but that may be an impression. An extra subscription would require something Roon doesn’t offer. Roon is “free” for me here on in.