Do all passive preamps sound the same?

I’ve been running a Schiit Freya + for a few years now. I bought it because of the ability to use its three operating modes to varying sonic signatures. I like the passive mode due to its transparency and neutrality best. I’ve always believed that a passive design should be neutral by default.
This review presents an idea concerning passive preamps that I’ve never heard of before. He reviews a brand that contends that the sound changes depending on the design of the resistors used in the stepped attenuator. They even offer the option to order different ones depending on the sound signature you are after. Interesting.

4 Likes

Having a Wyred4Sound STP SE Stage 2…Is very transparent dynamic, not thin
or shrill. It is both passive and then active beyond a certain level of gain on volume
control…

Mine sounds wonderful…

While I haven’t owned or hear other passive preamps.

It seems I have read that passives can’t deliver a punch or do low bass…
Certainly not the case with my Stage 2…

Hope this helps some.

Best wishes

1 Like

Just because it uses passive parts does not make it neutral.

Looks a lot like my Hattor passive pre. w/3-level active gain option…right down to the remote…*

Hmmm… :thinking:

Neat kit.

(Not my pre but close enough for making the comparison.)

1 Like

Which preamp is this?

Best wishes

I wouldn’t say they sound the same. The volume control does impact the sound. I would say they all have similar traits however, exceedingly transparent (probably due to low noise floor) and requires a bit more work matching with source components, amplification and speakers. Low output source, with a demanding amp and low sensitivity speakers will sound dull and lifeless. Decent output components, combined with a relatively simple amp and high efficiency speakers can get you close to audio nirvana

1 Like