Have many settled with primary Directstream mods?

Have many people settled with the primary Directstream dac mods being the Edcor XS4400 transformers and the Jkrichards power supply board with outboard power supply? I have settled with these mods as they sound good and I could not afford to do the more recent mods for a variety of reasons. Just the same my dac as is sounds very nice.

3 Likes

Same here. I have no electronic fab experience or skills so having the mods done by someone else is the only way for me. I still don’t have the last DAC with the Lindahl (sp?) xformers and JR power board in the system yet. Maybe next month.

I settled with just the Edcor transformers.

I settled?

Edcors still burning in,
But Hey…
Boy Howdy Lordy Mamma, what an improvement over the stock Dac.

There is a specific reason these transformers are in the DS MkII.
Ted chose 'em…they are that good.

Have JK Richards external PSU board swapped out for my Bridge Ii as well,
With a Farad 3 (all mods), so firing as strong as I can without going surface mount sodder…Vcom n stuff.

All about the mueic,
You get to a point where you can forget about the electronics and just enjoy the music.

My Dac’s more than hit that point.
And THEN some.

If Audiophilia Nervosa should ever kick in,
I’ll save up and buy a MK II.

Loved the ride over last 5 years or so with free Firmware updates, will miss that.

1 Like

I also “settled” with the Edcors and Jkrichards power supply board (with HDPlex 300 power supply). Sounds great to me. This unit will be going into my second system when the Mk II is released, where it will be a substantial improvement over my PSA Nuwave DSD.

I was settled but then jumped to the kit and use the LPS adapter as well. Still have not put them in as my friend who does it needs to schedule time for help.

It will be interesting to see how MK2 compared to a heavily Mod DS. I wonder if there will be a significant improvement.