How Rudy van Gelder participates in the JAZZ art

I am still fairly new to the world of audiophile-level listening, so take the following with a grain of ear-salt. But I DO know my jazz, so I think this might be a fun discussion to have. When I recently upgraded my sound system, having thought for many years that digital is better than analog, I surprised myself by electing to add a higher-level turntable and cartridge so I could maybe hear some of what the vinyl-raving was all about. I’m still learning.