Length of ethernet cable

Hi all, newbie here trying to get a system set up to maximize the sound. In order to get from my cable modem to my stereo system, I will have to run a long (40 feet) cable or run wireless. I can set up the router in the stereo room, but can’t move the modem. From what I have read, it seems that wireless might increase the jitter. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi

I would run the cable from your modem to the router.

If did dull to do then I prefer Plc Ethernet extenders to wireless that is not in line of sight.

I have both and no complaints.

Enjoy!

Welcome, dabman51.

Most would agree that shorter runs of ethernet cable are beneficial. I myself have 50ft between my router and PWD and haven’t tried anything shorter so I can’t comment from experience. I don’t see a problem with moving the router closer to the PWD (not too close!) since some also feel that it is the last segment of cat 5/6/7 that is the most important. Others have used a crossover cable between their computer and the PWD. This requires some knowledge to set up and would require having the computer nearby, if it isn’t already.

A small dedicated switch may help here. So, you will run a long cable to the switch and a short high-quality cable between the switch and the Bridge. Also, you can experiment with different power supplies for the switch, there are reports, that linear power supplies may increase the sound quality.

Gigabit switches are cheap nowadays. Look for the ones in a aluminium box.

Thanks for all the fast responses. I have a 50 ft. Cat6e cable that I could use for this. I was just afraid it might be too long. Thinking about this a little deeper, I can set up my windows laptop and the router all in the stereo room and just run the 50 ft. cable from the cable modem to the router. Would that setup be OK? The next thing is which device to use for the controller and which software to use.