Lumin U1 Mini or Rendu to DS Sr?

Hi, I am new to computer audio, just bought a used DS Sr, now I need to figure out what streamer to get, here are options:

1. Micro Rendu/Ultra Rendu ->USB-> DS, adding linear Uptone PSU and Curious USB cable.
  2. Lumin U1 Mini ->AES->DS

Option 2 costs more but allows for various connections to the DS. I plan to plug my SACD/CD player into the DS to play SACD/DVD Audio.
Have you owned and compared these options and which one would you prefer and why? I try to balance between SQ and simplicity for my choice.

My setup:
Preamp- CJ ACT2
Amp: Wolcott momos + CJ Premier 350
Source: Roon/Dell PC/Ethernet
Ayre C5XMP
Cables: Purist Audio/Transparent
Speakers: Wilson MAXX2, SoundLab A1

Thanks

I don’t know about the Lumin U1 Mini. But the DS SR will allow you to connect your SACD/CD player using XLR. I don’t think you will need the Lumin U1 Mini for this purpose.

If you go for a Rendu, than I would suggest you to use the new opticalRendu in combination with the Sbooster Power Supply (the Uptone is not recommended by Sonore for the opticalRendu). Why? You will get galvanic isolation and a near perfect network streaming solution. The guys at Sonore just focus to do this, nothing else.

If you are interested in buying a MicroRendu and/or an UltraRendu cheap, contact me. Please.

Can I ask what you replaced the Rendus with?

I hope I am wrong for your sake, but I highly doubt that your Ayre C-5xeMP will pass a DSD bit stream via its AES/EBU digital output when you are playing an SACD. As for spinning DVD-Audio discs, I would be very pleasantly surprised if the Ayre passes anything beyond 16-bit / 48 kHz via its digital output.

Altough i have not personally listened to a Lumin u1 i have read many great things about them!
I also have Direct Stream Sr. and musing about swapping out my Bryston BDP1 digital player for either a BDP3 or jumping ship to a Lumin. Decisons decisions…