Matrix and Innuous

I have the Matrix with uptone power supply, Innuous Zenith 3 and PS Audio Directstream DAC. There has been discussion on this board about the new Innuous Phoenix reclocker. I’m wondering if the Phoenix could be used together with the Matrix or whether it would replace the Matrix…can they be used together or is it a choice of one or the other? Hope this isn’t a silly question but I’m not technically inclined.

1 Like

You’ve got some very fine gear there. I don’t know if the clock could be added or add any value but there are other parts in the power and sonic path that I would ensure are top notch before finding out.

What is the rest of the system, the room, etc.?

Thanks. Speakers are KEF Reference 5, Audio Research LS 22 preamp and Audio Research PH 3 phono stage, brand new Krell Duo 175xd power amp, Rega Planar 6 with Dynavector cartridge, mostly Wireworld cables, 18x24 room. I’m considering Isoacoustics Gaia iii footers and the Innuous Phoenix, although everything sounds pretty good. As my question indicates, I’m not sure whether the Phoenix is compatible with the Matrix or would replace the Matrix…and if the two can’t be used simultaneously, whether the Phoenix would be an improvement and worth the cost ($3000+).

You’ve invested significant resources into the system. The USB reclocker appears to receive USB and output USB so it would sit between your Zenith 3 server and the Matrix.

The Matrix does a real fantastic job converting from USB to I2S. I would stick with this and not bother unless you have $3k to burn and want to try it. Of course, I’m sure you could try it without commitment for 30 days.

I cut out the middle man with my Pink Faun 2.16, fiber Ethernet in and IS2 out to Directstream DAC.

What do your speakers sit on? The flooring, concrete with carpet or hardwood, raised hardwood or over concrete?

I find vibration and acoustic changes to be far more significant than tweaks using clocks.